Australia Names Squad for First Test Against Pakistan

Sun Dec 03 2023
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

PERTH: Australia has announced its 14-member squad for the upcoming first Test against Pakistan in the three-match home series, set to commence on December 14 at the Perth Stadium. The squad, led by World Cup-winning skipper Pat Cummins, includes seasoned players alongside some emerging talents.

Notably, Australian opener David Warner, who recently announced his retirement from Test cricket after a 12-year career, finds a place in the squad for the first Test. The squad also included Usman Khawaja, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Greene, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, and Mitchell Starc.

Australian chief selector George Bailey expressed optimism about the team’s performance and highlighted the opportunities for players to showcase their potential for upcoming Tests against Pakistan in Melbourne and Sydney, as well as the subsequent two-match series against West Indies.

“We look forward to seeing the continued strong performances from players who have been performing domestically, many of whom will get a tremendous opportunity in the Prime Minister’s XI fixture against Pakistan later this week,” stated Bailey.

Pakistan Aims to Break Winless Streak in Australia

Meanwhile, Pakistan, aiming to break a nearly three-decade winless streak in Australia, is diligently preparing for the series. The tour schedule includes a four-day match between PM’s XI and Pakistan at Manuka Oval, Canberra, from December 6 to 9, followed by the three Tests at Perth Stadium, Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), and Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on December 14-18, December 26-30, and January 3-7, respectively.


icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp