Babar Azam to Lead Pakistan Team for Third Consecutive Time in T20 World Cup

Fri May 24 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

LAHORE: Babar Azam will be leading the Pakistan national team for the third consecutive time at the upcoming T20 World Cup he will fly out with the 15-member squad for the ICC mega tournament next month.  The green shirts currently in England for T20 series.

Just hours before the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) May 25 deadline for squad submissions for the tournament in the West Indies, USA, and Caribbean, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) finally announced their 15-member squad. The PCB, however, chose not to appoint a vice-captain or announce any traveling reserves, despite the extended duration of the tournament to be played in the USA and Caribbean over nearly a month.

This squad is a mix of seasoned campaigners and promising newcomers. Five players – Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayub, and Usman Khan – are set to make their T20 World Cup debut, while eight members have prior experience from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

With the likes of Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, and the versatile Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Pakistan’s fast bowling arsenal looks robust. The spin department is well-covered with Abrar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, and Imad Wasim, complemented by part-time off-spinners Iftikhar Ahmed and Saim Ayub.

In terms of batting, the team boasts a solid lineup featuring the dependable duo of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan, along with the explosive talents of Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Azam Khan.

The selection committee, including Wahab Riaz, Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Bilal Afzal, Gary Kirsten, and Mohammad Yousuf, meticulously deliberated for two hours before finalizing the squad. The PCB expressed confidence in the team’s balance of youth and experience, emphasizing their cohesion and readiness for the upcoming tournament.

Regarding Haris Rauf, the PCB reassured that he is in top form and has been impressive in the nets. Although he missed out on an opportunity at Headingley, they believe he, along with other key strike bowlers, will play a crucial role in Pakistan’s campaign in the T20 World Cup.


1.Babar Azam (captain), Azam Khan, Abrar Ahmed, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imad Wasim, Iftikhar Ahmad, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp