Elections 2024: Which Party Leads in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Fri Feb 09 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

PESHAWAR: In the recent elections, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Parliamentarians (PTI-P), led by former chief minister Pervez Khattak, previously considered the dominant force in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa politics, experienced a setback in the elections, local media reported. Unofficial results and unconfirmed reports at the movement that independent

The political landscape in the province has undergone a seismic transformation, witnessing defeats not only for Khattak led PTI-P but also for prominent figures from other major parties like the Awami National Party (ANP), Qaumi Watan Party, and Jamaat-e-Islami in both national and provincial assembly elections.

Notably, independent candidates backed by PTI have won many seats throughout Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, local media reported.

Among the prominent casualties of this electoral shake-up are seasoned politicians such Pervez Khattak, Mehmood Khan, Amir Haider Hoti, Aimal Wali Khan, Qaumi Watan Party Chairman Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao. Even heavyweight figures like Mian Nawaz Sharif have reportedly suffered losses in their respective constituencies in KP.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp