Nawaz Sharif Reclaims PML-N Presidency Following a Gap of Six Years

Tue May 28 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

LAHORE: Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Tuesday has been elected as the unopposed president of the Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N), local media reported.

According to media reports, Nawaz Sharif had stepped down as the president of the party six years ago due to a Supreme Court’s order in the Panama Papers case disqualifying him as Pakistan’s prime minister in 2017.

The PML-N has set up a five-member election commission led by PML-N Punjab President Rana Sanaullah and comprising Iqbal Zafar Jhagra, Jamal Shah Kakar, Ishrat Ashraf, and Khayal Das Kohistani to conduct the election for the top slot. However, according to the Chief Election Commissioner, Rana Sanaullah, has released the final list of candidates, confirming Nawaz Sharif as the sole contester for the slot.

The election process started with the scrutiny of nomination papers, following which the final list of candidates was announced.

As no other candidates were in the running, therefore, Nawaz Sharif has been elected unopposed, as per the party’s internal procedures. As per local media reports, the official announcement of Nawaz Sharif being elected as PML-N president will be made during the next General Council meeting.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp