Pakistan to Host Australia in Historic Three-Match Volleyball Series

Mon May 27 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Volleyball Federation (PVF) has announced a historic three-match volleyball series against Australia, that would be the first time for the Aussies team to visit Pakistan for a series.

This was revealed by PVF Chairman Chaudhry Muhammad Yaqoob during a press conference here at a local hotel on Monday adding that this would be a delighting moment while hosting the Australian team and would be a great opportunity for Pakistani volleyball fans to witness top-class and nail-biting contests.

He further said that the series is being organized at the request of the Australian Volleyball Federation, whereas the first match of the series would be played on May 28 (Tuesday) at the Liaquat Gymnasium, Pakistan Sports Complex Islamabad.

Yaqoob termed the series a crucial one which according to him would help the green shirts to have further preparation for international events adding that it would also help in developing the game in the country. He informed that the matches would start at 6:30 pm daily at the Liaquat Gymnasium.

Australians’ Excitement About Volleyball Series

Meanwhile, the Australian coach, Daniel Ilott stated that no doubt, volleyball was a minor sport in his country, but the team was excited to play against Pakistan. He appreciated the recent performance of the Pakistani team in the Central Asian Volleyball League, saying they played excellent volleyball.

While talking to the media, the captain Pakistan Volleyball team, Murad Jehan said Australia was a tough team, however, Pakistan has a blend of young and experienced players who were ready to accept the challenge.

The Australian captain, Nehemiah Mote, stated that Pakistan has improved significantly since their last encounter in 2019 and will offer them a tough challenge adding that his team was ready for the series and he hoped for an exciting contest between the two sides.

The first match of the three-match series will be held on Tuesday (May 28) followed by the second contest on May 29. The third and final match of the series will be played on May 30.

Pakistan’s Squad

Murad Jehan (c), Muhammad Kasheef Naveed, Waleed Khan, Aimal Khan, Usman Faryad Ali, Fakhar Ud Din, Afaq Khan, Abdul Zaheer, Musawer Khan, Muhammad Hamad, Haider Ali, Nasir Ali and Muhammad Yaseen.

Australian Squad

Nehemiah Mote (c), Luke Perry, Arshdeep Dosanjh, Jackson Holland, Trent O’dea, Matthew Aubrey, Max Senica, Beau Graham, Thomas Heptinstall, Sam Flowerday, Nicholas Butler, Ethan Garrett, William D’arcy Miles and Jacob Baird.


icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp