Pakistan to Host ICC Champions Trophy 2025: PCB

Sat Dec 16 2023
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

ISLAMABAD: In a breakthrough achievement, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) signed the hosting rights agreement for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 with the International Cricket Council (ICC) in Dubai on Friday.

According to a statement issued by the Pakistan Cricket Board, Chairman PCB Management Committee Zaka Ashraf was joined by ICC General Counsel Jonathan Hall in the signing of the hosting rights to Pakistan at the ICC headquarters.

The Cricket Board has already conveyed to the government about the need for robust security measures for the visiting of the international teams to Pakistan during the Champions Trophy.

A couple of days before, Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar, in a recent meeting with the Chairman of the PCB Management Committee, assured cooperation and support from security agencies to ensure the successful hosting of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025. The meeting also highlighted several other issues related to the sport. 

Sri Lanka, West Indies To Miss Champions Trophy

The mega event would mark the revival and return of the ICC Champions Trophy after a long time. Some Test-playing nations such as Sri Lanka and West Indies missed out on this global tournament, with Sri Lanka failing to secure a top-eight position in the ICC World Cup 2023 (held in India Oct-Nov) points table.

For the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, a total of eight teams would be in action, following the One Day International (ODI) format. The qualification process involved the top seven teams from the ICC ODI World Cup group stage, along with the host nation, Pakistan, securing their positions for this upcoming mega contest.

The teams to contest in the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy are:

Pakistan (hosts), India, South Africa, England, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan and Bangladesh

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp