PCB Honours Babar Azam and Shaheen Shah Afridi for T20I Milestones

Mon May 13 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

DUBLIN: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Mohsin Naqvi presented special jerseys to the national team skipper Babar Azam and pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi to celebrate their remarkable achievements in T20 International (T20I) cricket. Babar Azam was celebrated for becoming the captain with the most T20I wins, while Shaheen Shah Afridi was lauded for reaching the milestone of 300 T20 wickets.

The accolades were bestowed upon the talented duo following their exceptional performances in the second game of the three-match T20I series against Ireland. Pakistan emerged victorious in the thrilling encounter, defeating Ireland by seven wickets at the Clontarf Cricket Club Ground in Dublin. With this triumph, Pakistan leveled the ongoing series 1-1, setting the stage for an exciting decider.

In pursuit of a challenging 194-run target set by Ireland, Pakistan showcased their batting prowess as they chased down the total in just the 17th over. Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Rizwan emerged as the architects of Pakistan’s successful chase, with Zaman smashing a blistering 78 runs and Rizwan contributing an impressive 75 runs to the scoreboard.

Rizwan’s dynamic innings, comprising four sixes and six fours off 46 deliveries, underscored his dominance at the crease. Meanwhile, Zaman’s explosive knock, featuring six sixes and six fours off 40 balls, demonstrated his ability to anchor the innings with aggressive strokes. Azam Khan also made a valuable contribution, remaining unbeaten at 30 runs off just 10 balls, including four sixes and a four.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp