Senate By-Election: Pakistan Ruling Alliance Grabs Five out of Six Seats

Thu Mar 14 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

ISLAMABAD:  Pakistan ruling alliance managed to secure the by-polls on five out of the six Senate seats, with the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) winning the majority of the seats.

These six seats remained vacant under Article 223 of the Constitution, which prohibits members of parliament from holding dual membership.

Earlier, polling for the six Senate seats in the National, Sindh, and Baluchistan Assemblies began at 9 am and continued until 4 pm.

Senate By-Election in Islamabad

PPP’s Syed Yousuf Raza Gillani managed to retain his seat, which he left vacant earlier before the general election. He was a joint candidate of the ruling coalition of six parties and secured 204 votes against his rival Ilyas Mehrban from the Sunni Ittehad Council, who received 88 votes.


In Sindh, Jam Saifullah Khan Dharejo and Muhammad Aslam Abro from PPP won their seats by obtaining 58 and 57 votes, respectively, while Nazeerullah and Shazia Sohail of the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) received just 4 votes each.

Senate By-Election in Balochistan

Meanwhile, in the Balochistan Assembly, 61 votes were polled for the three general seats of the Senate from the province, with a total of seven candidates contesting for three seats.

Among the seven candidates, PPP’s Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, PML-N’s Mir Dostain Khan Domki, and JUI-F’s Abdul Shakoor Khan succeeded in winning the elections.

Bizenjo secured 23 votes, Domki received 17, while the JUI-F’s candidate won his seat with 16 votes.

These three Senate seats from Balochistan remained vacant after senators Sarfraz Ahmed Bugti, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, and Prince Ahmad Umar Ahmadzai became members of the National and Balochistan Assemblies in the general elections of February 2024.

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp