South Africa Narrowly Beat Bangladesh by 4 Runs in T20 World Cup Match

Mon Jun 10 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

NEW YORK: South Africa defeated Bangladesh with four runs in another low-scoring match at the Twenty20 World Cup at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Monday.

Bangladesh, just like South Africa, had a shaky start to their innings as the Proteas pacer caused havoc on their batters as Tanzid Hasan (9 off 9), Najmul Hossain Shanto (14 off 23), Liton Das (9 off 13) and Shakib Al Hasan (3 off 4) were sent back to the pavilion, leaving their side 50-4 in 9.5 overs.

Experienced all-rounder Mahmudullah and Towhid Hridoy’s 44-run partnership gave some stability to the struggling batting team. Hridoy played a good knock (37 off 34) under the difficult conditions but he was removed by Kagiso Rabada.

However, Mahmudullah stayed on the pitch till the end but he couldn’t take his team to victory as Bangladesh ended their innings at 109-7.

South Africa set a 114-run target for Bangladesh in their third game of the T20 World Cup 2024.

Bangladesh were on top from the first over as Tanzim Hasan Sakib struck early by puzzling the Proteas’ opening pair in his first two overs with Reeze Hendricks (0) and Quinton de Kock (18 off 11).

The next victim was South African captain Aiden Markram as he was clean-bowled by Taskin Ahmed for just four runs in the fourth over. Bangladesh continued with their excellent bowling as Tanzim Hasan struck and removed Tristan Stubbs for a duck.

David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen formed a crucial 79-run partnership and helped their team reach a decent total.

Klaasen contributed valuable 46 runs before giving away his wicket to Taskin while Miller departed after scording 29 valuable runs as South Africa concluded their innings at 113/6 runs in the allocated overs.

Tanzim Hasan picked three wickets, Taskin grabbed two while Rishad Hossain bagged one. Earlier South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first.

Bangladesh Squad

1 Tanzid Hasan, 2 Jaker Ali, 3 Litton Das (wk), 4 Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), 5 Towhid Hridoy, 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Mahmudullah, 8 Rishad Hossain, 9 Tanzim Hasan, 10 Taskin Ahmed 11 Mustafizur Rahman

South Africa Squad

1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Aiden Markram (capt), 4 Heinrich Klaasen, 5 David Miller, 6 Tristan Stubbs, 7 Marco Jansen, 8 Keshav Maharaj, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11  Ottneil Baartman


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp