West Indies Beat England in World Championship of Legends

Tue Jul 09 2024
icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp

NORTHAMPTON: West Indies Champions defeated England Champions by five wickets in the 12th match of the World Championship of Legends (WCL) 2024 at the County Ground, Northampton on Tuesday.

West Indies now have four points from four games. A victory against Australia Champions tomorrow would ensure their place in the semi-finals.

Though the Caribbean team had a difficult start as they lost Chris Gayle in the first over, the team continued to play with an aggressive mood and kept on hitting against English bowlers.

Chadwick Walton was the best performer for West Indies Champions with a convincing 85 runs on 42 balls with the help of nine fours and five sixes.

Jasom Mohammed played a 24-ball 34-run innings but Ashley Nurse’s 47-run innings on 25 balls propelled his side to victory.

Samit Patel grabbed two wickets while Ryan Jay Sidebottom, Bopara and Usman Afzaal got one wicket each.

Earlier, West Indian won the toss and asked England to bat first. England met with an early blow when their wicketkeeper batter Phil Mustard was bowled out on a duck in the first over.

However, the home side recovered quickly and Kevin Pietersen and Ian Bell made a strong 73 partnership.

After Pietersen’s dismissal, Bell and Ravi Bopara continued to keep on hitting the West Indies bowlers and managed to form a massive 118-run partnership.

Bopara lost his wicket after hitting 53 runs with six fours and two sixes while Bell missed his century by just three runs.

England finished their innings at 209-5 in 20 overs while for West Indies, Jerome Taylor, Ashley Nurse Samuel Badree, and Darren Sammy took one wicket each.

Playing Squads

West Indies Champions: Dwayne Smith, Chadwick Walton (wk), Daren Sammy (c), Navin Stewart, Ashley Nurse, Kirk Edwards, Jerome Taylor, Tino Best, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Jason Mohammed

England Champions: Kevin Pietersen (c), Phil Mustard (wk), Ian Bell, Kevin O Brien, Owais Shah, Ravi Bopara, Usman Afzaal, Samit Patel, Chris Schofield, Ryan Jay Sidebottom, Stuart Meaker

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-whatsapp